Skip main navigation

Citizens Against Litter

Weinstein elected third time as Clean Pittsburgh Chair; progress made with help of neighborhood leaders

Boris Weinstein was elected to serve a third term (for two years) as chairman of the Clean Pittsburgh Commission beginning Jan. 1, 2012. Weinstein has been an at-large member of the original 15-member commission when it was formed by Mayor Tom Murphy and City Council in August 2005. He founded Citizens Against Litter in 2002.

Weinstein credits neighborhood leaders -? called Clean Pittsburgh Stewards ?- with the progress to reduce litter through annual Redd Ups, make the city cleaner and involve thousands of residents, school kids and college students as volunteers.

Others elected at the Nov. 17 commission meeting were: Sarah Alessio Shea (PA Resources Council) and Joe Divack (DumpBusters) as vice chairs, Patricia Chavez (Public Works) as secretary and Shawn Wigle (Public Works) as treasurer.

The Commission also acted to recommend Kevin Acklin, Executive Director of Renew Pittsburgh, and Nicholas Stefanov, a director of Renewable Manufacturing Gateway, to fill two commission vacancies.

CPC works to improve the environmental quality of life here through litter and illegal dumping prevention, cleanups and enforcement.

Recent Litter-ature

A complete list of past Litterature is available in our archives.

Home · © 2019, Citizens Against Litter